Assimilate with Stefania Ferrario

It was my pleasure to finally get to work with Stefania Ferrario the model who originally started the #droptheplus campaign. As those of you who read my blog will already know this is something I feel strongly about; I have written numerous blogs and shot two campaigns for models 1 in support of body diversity in the fashion industry.

In recent months there have been many talks and debates over this topic along with the controversy over the whole Protein World ‘beach body ready campaign and The Lane Bryant I’m no angel campaign even though It is great that this topic is being discussed and woman are seemingly celebrating their bodies in all forms, as I mentioned before, I also fear it is creating a kind of them and us mentality and perpetuating body shape neurosis.

By having a dig at the Victoria secrets models and with facebook pages with 568k follows named  ‘Real woman ain’t a size 0. Real woman have curves.’  I find this extremely insulting to woman on the whole and shows our continued preoccupation with physical appearance. If a man is labeled a ‘real man’ it is usually for his integrity yet sadly a woman’s whole identity is so tied in with her physical appearance that her body shape seems to define weather she is classed as a ‘real woman.’ I see so many body shaming comments on social media: a size zero model is called disgusting and not even worthy to be a woman, then a fuller figured woman is called fat and vile etc I feel that now more than ever woman are tying their sense of self worth into their body shape weather the preference be curvy or slim. On istangram the hashtag #bodygoals  has over 127,173 posts (last time I checked) where as #careergoals only has 20,240 posts and #personalgoals has a mere 12,554…

…and in the world of fashion, progress is being made; magazines are now featuring curvy girls in editorials yet they often have to make a point about the size or call it the curve feature and it’s very rare that girls over a size 0 are used in edgy publications unless they have the celebrity credibility of say Crystal Renn I want to see diversity in all forms but without pitting people against each other.

Here is some of my work with Stefania (Special guest star: Betty Peg)

© Michelle George © Michelle George © Michelle George

© Michelle George

© Michelle George

© Michelle George

© Michelle George

 

 

© Michelle George © Michelle George © Michelle George

DSCF6843-Edit

 

 

 

Photography and Make up: Michelle George

Model: Stefania Ferrario at models 1

Body suite by: eLai

